Connecting with Other Educators

One of the best websites I’ve found for teachers is www.edmodo.com.  It’s similar to facebook, but it’s focused on education.  I learned about it from another teacher last year and I’m so glad!  It has given me access to so many ideas, resources and advice.

Besides being able to connect with other teachers, it also allows you to set up classes for your students.  Once they join the group, they can do assignments, take quizzes, post questions and more.  My students absolutely love to use edmodo.  Because I have students without internet access outside of school, I usually limit any required assignments to class time.  However, those students who do have internet access often log into edmodo at other times.  They have posted questions for the group to answer, sent me messages and suggested websites to other students.

As the teacher, you are in charge of the group and can remove students, posts, etc with a click or two.  In addition, you receive an email each time one of your students posts to the site.  This allows me to keep track of what the students are up to, easily.

Parents can also join.  This allows parents to see when assignments are due, and receive notes from the teacher.  If you have a website you’d like them to check out, you can post it right on edmodo and all they have to do is click on it.

Grading assignments on edmodo is also easy.  You can add comments, grade an assignment and the student can then see how they are doing.  It’s nice to be able to easily grade assignments and quizzes for students right on the computer.

One of the things I’ve enjoyed about the site this summer is the ability to get ideas and advice from other teachers.  Users can upload worksheets, videos and more, sharing with colleagues all over the world.  In addition, there is a library feature which allows you to easily save the things you want to use in the future.  I have found great resources this way.

When I run into a problem that I don’t have an answer to (which is pretty often!), I post a question on the site.  Other teachers respond and give me great advice.  Once, I couldn’t figure out how best to help some students with when to break a story into paragraphs.  I posted the question on edmodo and immediately got not only advice, but premade worksheets to use!  It was awesome!

Over the years, I’ve marveled at the ability of the internet to make our jobs easier.  This website does just that.  It’s a great place to go to avoid reinventing the wheel.  Generally, there is a teacher out there who has already done exactly what you’re struggling with.

Check it out – you won’t be sorry!

One thought on “Connecting with Other Educators

  1. […] Development feeling inspired and motivated. Connecting with others opens a lot of doors and this post by a middle school teacher shares her thoughts on connecting with other educators through a program […]

Leave a Reply

