Inspired by Ellen and Fuel Up to Play 60

The Fuel Up to Play 60 program and Ellen have come together to inspire me to have a dance party with my students.

First, a little background: Ellen starts each afternoon’s show with a dance with the audience.  Nothing special, just moving to the beat with the audience.  It raises the energy for everyone and puts them in a happy mood.

Fuel Up to Play 60 is a program for schools designed to help students eat more healthy foods and move more.  The 60 refers to 60 minutes of activity a day.  This year, the program has been focused on dancing and school breakfast.

It occurs to me that my students could really use an energetic beginning to class.  Particularly the morning group.  It takes them a while to wake up and start participating.  The first half hour or so of class is always slow going.  I’ve tried brain breaks, but that doesn’t always do the trick.

Starting Monday, I’m going to pick a song and we’ll have a few minutes to dance at the beginning of the hour.  I figure I’ll do it like Ellen does and get the blood pumping, then stop and go on with class.

Possible songs: Happy by Pherell Williams, Best Day of My Life by American Authors, I Gotta Feelin’ by Black Eyed Peas, Good Time by Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen.  I’m sure the kids will suggest some, too, as we go along.

best day of my life Good Time I Gotta Feelin Pharrell_Williams_-_HappyHave you done any dance parties with your students?  Would you consider revving them up at the beginning of the hour, or do you spend your time calming them down?  

Leave a Reply

